Quick Answer: Can You Only Share Public Posts On Facebook?

What happens when you share someone else’s post on Facebook?

Hi Jill, If you share a post you see onto your friend’s Timeline, it will only appear on your friend’s Timeline, not on your own.

However, you can also share a post you see onto your own Timeline for all of your Facebook friends to see..

How do I know who shared my post?

It’s just as simple to do. Go to the post in question, such as on a Facebook page or friend’s account, then select Share. You’ll see a list of the people who have shared the post. Depending on the person’s privacy settings, you might not see everyone who has shared the post.

Does a Facebook post have to be public to share?

When sharing on Facebook, keep in mind: Some things you share on Facebook will always be public. For example, when you post or comment in a public group, your post or comment will be public and can be seen by anyone.

How do you share a post on Facebook when there is no share button?

The way around this, is to click the pull-down menu on the top right hand corner of the post. There you will see an option to “save post”. Once you have saved this post, you can click on the link to your saved posts and there you will have the option to share the post to your timeline.

What happens if you make a post public on Facebook?

When you share something with Public that means anyone including people off of Facebook can see it. Your friends will be able to see your post in their News Feeds and on your Timeline, but even Facebook members who are not your Facebook friend would be able to see those public posts on your Timeline.

What is the difference between share now public and share on Facebook?

Hi Joseph, “Share Post Now (Friends)” refers to sharing on your own Timeline. “Share…” gives you options to share on a friend’s Timeline, in a group, or on a Page you manage. “Send a Message” refers to sharing in a private message.

When you share a post on Facebook who sees it?

When someone clicks Share below your post, they aren’t able to share your photos, videos or status updates through Facebook with people who weren’t in the audience you originally selected to share with. Only the people who could see those posts when you first made them are able to see them when someone clicks Share.

Do all my Facebook friends see my posts?

YOUR NEWS FEED The news feed is continually updating to show you your friends’ posts, which means, no – you won’t see every single post from every single friend. So everyone who is your friend most likely won’t see every single one of your Facebook posts on their news feed.

Is it better to share or repost on Facebook?

Clicking “Share” on someone’s Facebook status is a lot easier than copying, pasting and formatting — but the share button has limitations. … According to Facebook, if someone’s setting says the post can only be seen by their friends, then sharing the post will only show the content to your mutual friends.

What is the difference between send and share?

Sending means inviting people to view or download particular files. … Sharing means giving people permission to share your file space.

How do I share a post on Facebook to the public?

To share a post you see on your News Feed:Below a post, click Share in the bottom right.Select where you want to share the post. Depending on the post’s privacy settings, you may see the following options: Share Now. The post will be shared to your News Feed and timeline with your current privacy settings. Share…

Why can’t I share a public post on Facebook?

You will have to change the privacy of your posts to make them shareable. Posts set to public can be shared by everyone.

Who can see only me posts on Facebook?

Only Me: This option allows you to post stuff to your timeline that is visible only to you. Posts with the audience of Only Me will appear in your News Feed but not your friends’ feeds. When you tag someone in your content and choose Only Me, the audience won’t expand to include the person you tagged.